17.12.2022 , ,

THE WINNER OF THE 2022 ZWIFT ACADEMY IS..

CANYON//SRAM Racing and Zwift have announced Alex Morrice as the winner of the women’s 2022 Zwift Academy Road talent identification and training program. For the seventh year in a row, CANYON/SRAM Racing and Zwift, the fitness company born from gaming, have awarded the ultimate prize of a Women’s World Tour pro contract after a week of finals in Denia, Spain.

In order to earn her pro contract, Morrice and the winner of the men’s program, Luca Vergallito, set themselves apart from the more than 160,000 Zwifters who participated in the 2022 Zwift Academy Road. Morrice was one of five women invited to the finals in Denia, where the finalists participated in Zwift challenges and races, met with coaches and team staff, and had the chance to ride with pro athletes from CANYON//SRAM Racing. Morrice distinguished herself for having exceptional athletic talent, impressive on-bike skills, and the necessary attitude to learn what it takes to succeed at the highest level of racing.

“I saw the series last year, enjoyed watching it and wanted to give it a go myself to see how far I could get. There’s no other opportunity quite like the Zwift Academy,” said Morrice.

“It was an immensely exciting week. It was great to meet the other finalists and professional athletes from the team, and I was able to learn a lot. I found the challenges tough but rewarding, and I was happy with how I rode during the finals. I saw it as an excellent opportunity to learn a lot about myself and my riding ability, so tried to channel my nerves towards maximising my performance.”

Morrice was delighted to be announced as the 2022 Zwift Academy Road program winner. “I’m extremely grateful to have been given this opportunity, and I’m very excited to meet the rest of the team in January for a busy start of the year! I look forward to training and racing full-time in a professional environment where I can fully focus on reaching my potential. I want to gain as much experience racing at this level and take advantage of this opportunity. I haven’t set any goals yet but am focusing on understanding myself better as a rider and determining my rider skillset fully with the help of the team around me.”

CANYON//SRAM Racing lead Sport Director Magnus Bäckstedt said, “Alex impressed me with her current power numbers for the type of rider we were hoping to find for the team. She also displayed a good understanding of tactics, with a real feeling for the race moment, and she still has room to develop. Alex impressed during the whole week of finals, and we’re excited to welcome her to the team.”

In the coming days, people can join the Zwift Academy winners for rides in Watopia. The Alex Morrice CANYON//SRAM ride will be held on Monday, December 19 at 10:00PST | 11:00MST | 13:00EST | 18:00GMT | 19:00CET. The event can be found in the Zwift Companion App or here.

The complete roster for CANYON//SRAM Racing in 2023:

Ricarda Bauernfeind and Antonia Niedermaier (Germany), Shari Bossuyt (Belgium), Neve Bradbury, Tiffany Cromwell and Sarah Roy (Australia), Elise Chabbey (Switzerland), Chloé Dygert (USA), Alex Morrice and Alice Towers (Great Britain), Kasia Niewiadoma and Agnieszka Skalniak-Sójka (Poland), Soraya Paladin (Italy), Pauliena Rooijakkers and Maike van der Duin (Netherlands).

#TAKETHELEAD

CANYON
SRAM
ZWIFT
giro
oakley
Zipp
trainingpeaks
time
core
boa
ergon
zpurs
neat-cleats
topeak
schwalbe
tacx-garmin-company
maurten
garmin
muc-off
hyperice
liebe autohaus
digdeepcoaching
svl
k3""
osswald
inscyd
supersapiens
pelotan
kaari
best bike split