23.02.2018 ,

Ready for Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

The opening to spring classics, Omloop Het Nieuwsblad will see CANYON//SRAM Racing line up with a roster of Alice Barnes, Elena Cecchini Tiffany Cromwell, Lisa Klein, Alexis Ryan and Trixi Worrack. The women’s field, with 24 teams starting, will depart just before midday tomorrow 24 February from Gent, Belgium.

The new-look 122km course for 2018 sees the peloton take on the Muur van Geraardsbergen and Bosberg in the final kilometres of the race. Cromwell, winner of the race in 2013, expects it will make a difference to how the race plays out.

“The course is really quite different this year. The climbs are all stacked towards the end of the race and then to have the Muur van Geraardsbergen – Bosberg double towards the end is really going to make for an exciting race,” said Cromwell.

“I’m expecting people to find the new course challenging but our team is really motivated for it. We’ll have a real role to play in the race. Our line up is strong and there’s been a lot of training intensity at our recent camp in Spain that has prepared us for tomorrow.”

Watch Tiffany Cromwell’s preview here, or follow the race on Twitter with #OHNwomen.